What’s up

It’s my second year here in Saudi and I am now mummy to a beautiful baby girl alhamdulilah (say mashaAllah tabarakAllah guys!) and- call me crazy – itching to give her a baby brother or sister. Not much else is going on here kids because let’s be honest, Saudi is not the most exciting place in the world to live. But Alhamdulilah I’m here, I’m with my husband and my daughter and for that I am very grateful.

One thing I do need to say to you guys though is that this blog once had its own domain but I let that expire only later realising that I have now lost all of the posts I wrote while using that domain. I am sure there is a simple solution but I’m not that tech savvy and let’s be honest, I can’t be bothered with all that. I want those posts to be available for my visitors who are in the same position I was back when I wrote them so that they can inshaAllah help in some way even if just to provide comfort to one who thinks they are alone in their situation. Luckily for me I saved many of them if not all of them in Word documents on my laptop so I plan to repost those and annoy the pants of all of you who already read them. Yeah, sorry about that.

Will I start posting again? Maybe, because quite frankly summers in Saudi are boooooring and make me all annoying and introspective so I may choose to subject you to some of those ramblings but if not, just know that I’m most likely chilling with my favourite girl and avoiding all forms of housework. Yep, don’t lose hope guys – life does get better haha.

Until next time inshaAllah.

Salams!

2 thoughts on “What’s up

  1. Noor says:

    Salam alaikum, Hi 🙂 I read several last posts. You write nicely and I liked the honesty above all. Can relate to some of your experiences as I’m married to a man from a neighboring country. Do you cover your face? If yes, haven’t you noticed it makes socializing, making new acquaintances more difficult in real life in public places? If the face was visible foreign women or any women could identify each other, smile, have a chat and start acquaintances. But when they are all covered, they hardly look at each other, immersed in their own business and life, as if their clothes is a barrier from the outer world and people (which it is, since men want this barrier for their women from other men).

    • D says:

      Walaykum salam Noor thanks for reading and the lovely compliment. In answer to your question – no, I don’t wear niqab although I did for a few months when I first moved here but this was not at my husband’s request, it was something I had wanted to attempt for a long time but ultimately it didn’t work out. But to be honest I feel that in Saudi people generally keep to themselves so the fact that my face is showing hasn’t changed much in that respect. I mainly meet friends online, it is much easier. I met all my closest friends (including my husband!) online 🙂

Leave a Reply

